the afflicted


the multi award-winning debut from groupwork

“one of the best debuts on the fringe” - lyn gardner

conceived and created by groupwork and jake jeppson

In the town of hope river, new york, a group of twenty-four teenage girls starts behaving strangely – twitching and stuttering uncontrollably and without any cause. they quickly become a national news story and the town becomes a hotbed of fear, fascination and mistrust. Is it a case of mass hysteria Or something darker?

Inspired by real events and drawing on the conventions of podcast, documentary and horror The Afflicted is an explosive exploration in to the phenomena of mass psychogenic illness. combining hypnotic choreography, video and text to examine how a community deals with abnormality in its midst.

presented as part of the made in scotland showcase at the edinburgh fringe festival.

31st july - 25th august 2019. the demonstration room, summerhall

fringe first and scottish arts club award winner

“utterly transfixing” - exeunt

“a darkly elusive hour of theatre with an aftertaste” - the guardian

cast olivia barrowclough, felixe forde, grace gibson, amy kennedy

direction vicki manderson, finn den hertog

choreography vicki manderson

text & dramaturgy jake jeppson

video lewis den hertog

music & sound lewis den hertog

design camilla clarke

lighting benny goodman

stage manager carrie taylor

associate producer (for thickskin) carla marina almeida

the voice of hope river jessica hardwick

additional text the company

produced in association with thickskin with support from tramway

developed with the support of creative scotland, national theatre of scotland, the work room and the eugene o’neill centre

production photographs by mihaela bodlovic. see a full selection here

the afflcited mini logo.jpg

thanks: annabel baldwin, charlotte baldwin, lois chimimba, sophie dessauer, laura fisher, jessica hardwick, katy higgins, rachel-leah hosker, lucy mangan, natali mcleary, emma mullen, rose riley, eleanor sutton, nima sene, laura wohlwend. sarah jane murray. anna hodgart. paul burns. ailie crearer. daisy douglas. kathryn joseph. sara johnstone. anita clark. jill smith and all at tramway. laura mallows, neil bettles & all at thickskin. steven hogget. martin o’neill. caroline newall, rosie kelleghar, stewart laing. imogen brodie and kirsten adam, the young vic. andrew twyman. english touring theatre. ilona greive. neil murray. susie solis. emma skaer. roy fairhead. malcolm cumming. jon young. andy reid. rich price. lesley & jim manderson. annie & nils den hertog.